View Archives

Daejong Film Awards Organizers Are Embroiled In A Text Messaging Scandal, Following Boycotts

BY Adrienne Stanley | Nov 24, 2015 01:58 PM EST


The 52nd Daejong Film Awards (Grand Bell Awards) continue to be marred in controversy, following an unprecedented boycott by top screen stars of the November 20th ceremony.

On November 24, the domestic outlet Oh My News reported about an alleged text message conversation involving the director of the Daejong Film Awards and members of the organizing committee. 

The alleged exchange, which reportedly occurred two days after the ceremony on November 22, illustrates the disconnected sentimentality of organizers, whose discussion reflects a lack of concern regarding a boycott of the ceremony by several top stars. 

"It's not good for the citizens, there are many events that would even do this, but we talk to each other," said the committee director, in an alleged text message. "To work hard, [you] should not be disappointed at all." 

Allegations surrounding the conversation are centered on claims that the organizing committee, under the leadership of the director, failed to express remorse for the events leading up to the boycott and were not affected by the backlash from audiences, following the ceremony.

According to the report, Oh My Star received transcripts of the conversation from an unnamed source. The publication contacted organizers at the Daejong Film Awards, who did not fully acknowledge the text messages, but expressed their remorse regarding the situation and public outcry. 

"This is only a means to look towards the 53rd [Daejong Film Awards] and reflect on this," said a spokesperson for the event, in a statement obtained by telephone. "Someone projected these remarks and referred to the Deputy Prime Minister, which is obviously wrong."

 The situation surrounding the Daejong Film Awards continues to be a topic of conversation by domestic audiences, particularly as rumors surrounding the lineup of other end-of-the-year awards, including MAMA,  continue to emerge. 

On November 20, Daejong Film Awards honorees including Jun Ji Hyun, Kim Soo Hyun, and Gong Hyo Jin, and Hwang Jung Min refrained from attending the ceremony, in a move that defied a newly instated rule by event organizers that would prevent stars who were not in attendance from receiving their awards in absentia. 

Their absence from the event was reported less than 24 hours before the ceremony, fueling speculation that the stars were not experiencing schedule conflicts, but had united in solidarity against the conditions established by the organizing committee. 

While the diminished number of stars was baffling to many viewers, the boycott provided an opportunity for emerging actors like Best New Actor recipient, Lee Min Ho, to shine.

© 2016 All rights reserved.

In Case You Missed

Copyright ⓒ 2019 All rights reserved.


Real Time Analytics