View Archives

Joo Won Nabbed The SBS Drama Awards Grand Prize

BY Adrienne Stanley | Dec 31, 2015 01:37 PM EST


Joo Won was the recipient of the Grand Prize or Daesang at the 2015 SBS Drama Awards for his portrayal of Kim Tae Hyun, a rogue surgeon-for-hire in the hit series, "Yong Pal." 

The star-studded end-of-the-year award ceremony was broadcast live on December 31 COEX in Seoul, with a complete list of winners published by the domestic outlet, News1. 

Prior to receiving the top honor of the evening, the  28-year-old actor was the recipient of the Chinese Netizen Popularity Award and the Best Couple Award, along with his "Yong Pal" co-star, Kim Tae Hee. 

Other Best Couple honorees including Yoo Ah In, Shin Se Kyung for the period series, "Six Flying Dragons," as well as Ji Jin Hee and Kim Hyun Joo for their controversial portrayal of divorced pair who rediscovers unlikely romance in "I Have a Lover." 

Joo Won was also recognized as one of the Top 10 Stars, along with Kim Hyun Joo (I Have a Lover), Ju Ji Hoon (Mask), Moon Geun Young (The Village: Achiara's Secret), Kim Tae Hee (Yong Pal), Yoo Ah In (Six Flying Dragons), Cho Jae Hyun (Punch) and Ji Jin Hee (I Have a Lover).

JYJ's Yoochun was also the recipient of a Top 10 award for his performance in "The Girl Who Sees Smells," a series which is also known by the title, "Sensory Couple," The pop star received the honor in absentia because he is currently serving in the military. 

His "The Girl Who Sees Smells" co-star, Shin Se Kyung rounded out the Top 10 for her performance in the superhuman series and her role in "Six Flying Dragons." 

Actresses who received the New Star Award included Lim Ji Yeon for "High Society," Go Ah Sung for her breakout television role in "Heard It Through The Grapevine," Gong Seung Yeon for her portrayal of Seo Noo Rin the series, Lee Yeol Eum for "The Village: Achiara's Secret," Lee Elijah for "The Return of Hwang Geum Bok," 

Actors awarded the New Star trophy included Yoon Kyung Sang, Byun Yo Han for (Six Flying Dragons), ZE:A's Park Hyungsik his turn as a spoiled conglomerate heir who discovers true love in "High Society," BtoB's Yoo Sungjae for his breakout leading role in "The Village: Achiara's Secret," and Son Ho Jun for "Mrs. Cop." 

Kim Rae Won was the recipient of the three-network producer-director (PD) Choice Award for his performance in "Punch," while Kim Hyun Joo received the Netizen Choice Award for "I Have a Lover." 

In the Excellence in Acting category, Byun Yo Han was the recipient of the Best Actor Award in a Full-length series for "Six Flying Dragons," while Shin Se Kyung received Best Actress accolades for her role in the period series. Go Ah Sung received Best Actresses in a Drama Special for "Heard It Through The Grapevine," while Ju Ji Hoon was recognized as the Best Actor in Drama Special for "Mask." 

Park Hyungsik was the winner of Best Actor in a Mini-Series for "High Society" and "Moon Geun Young received Best Actress in a Mini-Series for "The Village: Achiara's Secret." 

Yoo Ah In was the recipient of the Best Actor Award in the Top Excellence in Acting in a Feature-Length series his performance in "Six Flying Dragons" and Kim Hyun Joo was named the Best Actress in the same category. 

JYJ's Yoochun was honored in absentia as the Best Actor in the Top Excellence Category for the mini-series, "The Girl Who Sees Smells," while Kim Tae Hee received the Best Actress Award in the same division. 

© 2016 All rights reserved.

In Case You Missed

Copyright ⓒ 2019 All rights reserved.


Real Time Analytics