View Archives

Choi Min Sik, Son Ye Jin And Park Yoochun Win Big At The Grand Bell Awards

BY Julie Jones | Nov 24, 2014 09:36 AM EST


The 51st Grand Bell Awards took place on Nov. 21st. And it surprised no one that "The Admiral: Roaring Currents" took home the top prize for the best film. Besides telling a thrilling story, the film broke box office records. Only three weeks after it was released "Roaring Currents" became the first film to surpass 15 million ticket sales at the South Korean box office.

 "The Admiral: Roaring Currents" earned four awards. That included the Best Actor award, which did go to the Choi Min Sik for his performance as the unbeatable admiral in "Roaring Currents." But the night's Best Director, Best Screenplay and Best Actress Award went to other films.

Kim Sun Hoon won the Best Director Award for the film "A Hard Day," the police thriller which starred Lee Sun Kyun.

Yang Woo Suk and Yoon Hyun Ho won the Best Screenplay award for the film "The Attorney," which stars Song Kang Ho and Im Si Wan.

Son Ye Jin won the Best Actress Award for her role as a female pirate in "Pirates."

The Best Supporting Actor and Actress awards went to Yoo Hae Jin and Kim Young Ae. Yoo Hae Jin won for "Pirates," while Kim Young Ae won for a role in the film "The Attorney."

The Best New Actor award went to JYJ's Park Yoochun for his role as a ship's crew member in "Sea Fog."

Im Ji Yeon won the Best New Actress award for her role in the film "Obsessed" which also starred Song Seung Hoon.

Yang Woo Suk won the Best new Director Award for "The Attorney."

Director Jung Jin Woo won a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Im Si Wan won a popularity award for the film "The Attorney." Kim Woo Bin won a popularity award for the film "Friend 2" and Honey Lee won a popularity award for her role in "Tazza 2."

"Roaring Currents" also won technical and planning awards.

"A Hard Day" also won awards for cinematography and lighting.

"Fatal Encounter," starring Hyun Bin, won an Art Direction award.

"Miss Granny" won a music award for Mowg.

"Kundo: Age of Rampant" won a costume award and "God's Play" won an editing award.

Many of the participants in the ceremony wore a yellow ribbon. The ribbons symbolized their solidarity for the victims of the Sewol ferry disaster. A few of the winners also mentioned the disaster in their acceptance speeches.

© 2016 All rights reserved.

In Case You Missed

Copyright ⓒ 2019 All rights reserved.


Real Time Analytics